Bruce McEwen Lifetime Achievement Award

Outstanding scientists in the field of psychoneuroendocrinology have received the most prestigious Bruce McEwen Lifetime Achievement Award for their contributions to our understanding of brain-body interactions. Note that the name for this award has been changed in 2020 (formerly named Lifetime Achievement Award). The 2021 award will be the first named after PNE pioneer, Bruce E. McEwen.

The International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology has awarded the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards for over 20 years to a distinguished line of outstanding scientists in the field of psychoneuroendocrinology, for their contributions to our understanding of brain-body interactions. 

The Bruce McEwen Lifetime Achievement Award is given by the Society during its Annual Meeting.

2023 ISPNE Bruce McEwen Lifetime Achievement Award

Jonathan Seckl, PhD
University of Edinburgh

Professor Jonathan Seckl trained in medicine at University College London. After a number of busy medical training posts in London, he undertook a PhD at Imperial College studying how the brain controls stress hormones. He then joined the University of Edinburgh and has been a consultant physician in Edinburgh since 1989, first at the Western General Hospital and for the last decade at the Royal Infirmary. He was made Professor of Endocrinology in 1996 and was elected to the Moncrieff-Arnott Chair of Molecular Medicine in 1997.

Professor Seckl's clinical work focuses on endocrinology. He has particular expertise in disorders of the hypothalamus (notably diabetes insipidus), pituitary and adrenal glands and has an interest in the genetics and molecular basis of endocrine disorders.

In research, Professor Seckl has worked for 30 years on the hormonal underpinnings of stress,  the role of glucocorticoid hormones and their metabolism in understanding how events before birth 'programme' the risks of later disorders of the brain and body, on new approaches to understand and treat age-associated disorders of memory and how glucocorticoid hormones may cause obesity and metabolic disease.  More than 40 doctors and scientists have completed PhDs in his laboratory. He has written over 400 papers and is one of Scotland's most cited medical scientists. He has spoken widely at academic meeting, to the press and lay audiences.

In Edinburgh, Professor Seckl set up and led the Molecular Medicine Centre at the Western General Hospital, initiated and led the Centre for the Study of the Ageing Brain, was inaugural Head of the School of Molecular and Clinical Medicine, and Executive Dean and Director of Research for the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine. He is now Vice Principal for Research at the University of Edinburgh.  Professor Seckl currently co-chairs grant committees at the Wellcome Trust and the Technology Strategy Board-MRC.  He has been elected to the Councils of the Academy of Medical Sciences and the Society for Endocrinology. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, the Academy of Medical Sciences and The Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Awards

2022: Robert Sapolsky
2021: Ned Kalin
2020: James Herman
2019: Marian Joëls
2018: Megan Gunnar
2015: Charles Nemeroff 
2015: Alan Schatzberg
2014: Michael Meaney
2013: David Spiegel
2012: Dirk Hellhammer
2007: Ron de Kloet
2006: Wylie Vale
2005: John Mason
2004: George Chrousos
2003: Mary Dallman
2002: Arthur Prange
2001: Etienne Baulieu
2001: Bruce McEwen
2000: George Fink
2000: Seymour Levine