Download information on the 2020 Curt Richter Award here!
2020 Curt Richter Award announcement_n.p[...]
PDF-Dokument [158.6 KB]

Curt P. Richter Award


ISPNE has awarded the prestigious Curt Richter Award for 40 years to a distinguished line of young investigators in the field of psychoneuroendocrinology. (For a brief narrative CV of Curt Richter published by the National Academy of Sciences, download the PDF document below).


The Curt Richter Award 2020 will be given by the Society during its virtual conference from August 26-28. The award consists of an honorarium, an award certificate, a plaque, and exemption from membership dues to the Society for three years, which includes a subscription to the Journal.


Applicants must be 45 years of age or younger by June 30, 2020. The manuscript must be a report of original, never-published research in basic or clinical psychoneuroendocrinology. It may also be an integrative comprehensive new discussion of the authors previously published findings. The manuscript should be prepared using the ISPNE Journal (Psychoneuroendocrinology) guidelines for preparation of manuscripts for publication. Following peer review, the manuscript will be automatically submitted for publication in the Journal and the award recipient will present the research at a plenary session during the Annual Meeting.


The Curt Richter Award is sponsored by Elsevier, which underwrites the honorarium and travel expenses for the awardee, as well as providing a years complimentary access to ScienceDirect and Scopus. Through these online services, the awardee is able to access all Elsevier journals. ISPNE wishes to thank Elsevier for its continuing support of our Curt Richter awards program.


Applicants should submit a copy of: (a) the manuscript; (b) curriculum vitae with list of publications; (c) letter (no more than one page, single-spaced) describing the applicants main achievements and future directions.


The deadline for submissions is June 30, 2020. Applications should be sent via email with “Curt Richter Award” as the subject line to

Curt Richter Award Winners

2020: Rachel Hill

2019: Shannon Gourley

2018: Eli Puterman

2017: Jason Radley

2016: Stefan Reber

2015: Claudia Buss & Sonja Entringer

2014: Katja Wingenfeld

2013: Emma Adam

2012: Rebecca Reynolds

2011: Nicolas Rohleder

2010: Firdaus Dhabar

2009: Christian Otte

2008: Jens Pruessner

2007: Christine Heim

2006: Courtney deVries

2005: Elissa Epel

2004: Sonia Lupien

2003: Carmine Pariante

2002: Rainer Rupprecht

2001: Serge Rivest

1999: Benno Roozendaal

1998: E Hogervorst

1997: Delia Vazquez

1996: Andrew Miller

1995: Rachel Yehuda

1994: Errol de Souza

1993: Zoltan Sarnyai

1992: Owen Wolkowitz

1991: Thomas Insel

1989: Elizabeth Hampson

1987: Fred Turek

1985: Charles Nemeroff

1984: Philip Gold

1980: John Carman


Renew your ISPNE membership for 2021 today!

Membership Dues:

  • Young Investigators US$95 (first 3 years free!)
  • Regular Members US$250
  • Regular Members with print copy of PNEC US$300

All membership levels include electronic subscription of PNEC

Renew your membership now safely via PayPal - no PayPal account required, simply use your credit card! Select the membership type below.


Alternative Options: Download membership application form, and email to with check or credit card information!

Membership options
Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© International Society of Psychoneuroendocrinology